Topic 10: In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

The life span of the human being goes up due to the innovation of modern science and health care systems. These phenomena can create severe issues for the people and the community. There are effective solutions that can be adopted to alleviate the difficulties. The high life expectancy will increase the number of old age people in society, hence it creates a burden on the healthcare system. To explain, geriatric people are prone to severe health issues such as dementia, Alzheimer's and other lifestyle diseases. Thus the facilities which are meant to treat the young generation could be diverted to old age care and their support. For example, care homes for elderly people need nurses and carers, who are supposed to work in hospitals where youngsters are children waiting for treatment.Apart from that, these families need to find more financial support to look after their elderly parents, where the increased cost of living creates profound issues. overall increased lifecycle of man creates high pressure on the health care system and family budget. There are solutions which can be taken by the government and authorities Such as implementing a pension scheme where youngsters can invest for their future so that this money can be used to look after them when they become old., Moreover the government should encourage people to join these scheme by providing certain tax benefits and allowances. Thus this pension can be used to treat their health issues and other diseases when they become old. Furthermore, increasing the age of retirement can reduce the impact of getting aged, so that people can be continued their work and which will be beneficial for them and their families. As a,result the burden on the community and Individuals regarding health and financial issues can be reduced. To sum up, the overburden on the healthcare system and families are the problems created by the increased life expectancy in the developed world, whereas implementing certain pension schemes and increasing the retirement age can be the solutions. Thank