Nowadays many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep. What problems can lack of sleep cause? What can be done about lack of sleep?

Many people encounter difficulties to get enough quality sleep due to many reasons. Sleep deprivation can lead to problems in our daily life functioning and at worst, more long-term and serious health issues. Therefore, it is paramount to find ways to achieve enough good sleep at the right time. Sleep deficiency can interfere with our school, work, driving and social interactions. First, people without enough sleep aren’t productive since they can’t focus well and their brains can’t absorb everything they should in their work and school. They can easily feel agitated, moody, cranky, and angry when they interact with other people. Second, sleep deprivation is linked to a higher chance of injury. For example, sleepiness while driving is responsible for car crashes, injuries, and deaths. Thirdly, it increases our stress levels and hormones causing chronic health problems such as heart disease, strokes, high blood pressure and obesity in the long term. One immediate practical solution is to try not to think too much. This can possibly achieve by doing meditation or switching our mind to other activities such as reading books, or doing workouts. Second, research shows that a healthy diet can contribute to good-quality sleep. Thus, we should cut off caffeine, sugar, snacks, and processed foods and replace those with water, fresh juice, vegetables, and beans. Third, we should reduce screen time at night, go to bed early and stick to our wake-up routine on both weekdays and weekends. Finally, if the tips described above don’t work out, then we should consult with medical professionals to get the proper treatments and medications. In conclusion, there are lots of negative consequences to our daily lives and health. Thus, we should take the proper steps to get enough sleep which can contribute to a happy and healthy lifestyle.