There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the international music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

In this present world, there is a wide range of melodious styles across the globe that represents cultural diversity. This article would argue that the vast majority of people love hearing music as it brings joy and traditional music is more significant than international music for a nation. The primary reason why individuals need music is to entertain. This means that listening to multiple songs can release a person's stress levels. In Indonesia, for example, some attend musical performances at the weekend and others just listening songs at their homes as it brings enjoyment. Thus, it seems that happiness is the main objective for individuals to hear songs and musical instruments. It has always been debatable about what style is more suitable for a country, traditional or international. In my opinion, the former is better than the latter since it contains local values and wisdom that the community can learn about their own culture. For instance, gamelan, a traditional ensemble from Indonesia, has existed since 16 AD century and has been played by Javanese musicians with specific expertise such as the Javanese language. It is considered the most appropriate method to introduce the moral values and culture of the Javanese way of thinking. In contrast, the international melody that can be heard in every part of the world is usually just for entertainment and business reasons. Furthermore, because of cultural differences, to some extents it brings detrimental effects on young people. As a result, traditional music is more significant and governments should protect them. In conclusion, there are numerous melodious styles that people can easily listen to. Acquiring happiness is the main objective of listening to them. Although the international melody is more popular and straightforward to hear, I believe that the traditional one is more important for a nation due to its cultural values and wisdom.