The use of smartphones is decreasing our collective intelligence because we are reliant on the technology not on our own minds. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advancements in technology, we are dependent on our electronic gadgets such as smartphones, laptops and iPads. In our day-to-day life, we use calculators to perform calculations and calendars to remember important dates. With the availability of advanced mobile applications, our logical thinking and creativity are getting affected. In this essay, I will discuss the impact of using smartphones on human intelligence. Firstly, we are the generation of the internet and electronic gadgets. We use these tools to perform our daily activities and requirements. We are using these electronic tools so that we do not have to remember anything. To demonstrate this, we use calculators to perform simple calculations which older people can do orally. We mark all the important dates on our calendars. As the skill of remembering helps to develop critical and logical thinking, our collective intelligence is decreasing due to this. Additionally, kids also use mobile applications for drawing, painting, and grammar checking. These applications barrier the development of creativity and intelligence in kids. For example, students who use grammar correction software cannot develop writing skills properly. Secondly, there is a new software in the market by the name of ‘ChatGPT’. This AI tool helps to provide solutions for our problems. We just have to write a question for this automation, and it will provide results in a few minutes. To cite an example, I personally have used this AI tool to write emails for work, articles for LinkedIn, and posts and captions for my social media account. The solutions provided by this app are detailed enough. The major drawback of this tool is it will kill the creativity, language skills and intelligence of our generation. To conclude, using smartphones is a barrier to the development of cognitive skills. It is a matter of concern.