Nowadays, more and more older people who need employment compete with the young people for the same jobs. What problems does this cause? What are the solutions?

It is true that there is job competition between the current generations and the previous generations. This phenomenon has several impacts on employment, and there are feasible solutions to mitigate it. These would be elaborated on in the following paragraphs. It must be admitted that this phenomenon leads to a lot of problems in modern society. Firstly, the unemployment rate would rise because increasingly individuals participate in the labour market. Specifically, young job-seekers lose chances to apply to careers which request a lot of work experience. In contrast, the older labour force is unable to compete with the current generations in occupations which require physical strength. Secondly, this phenomenon will make it difficult for businesses to set salaries for employees. Specifically, with low-level positions, headhunters have yet to offer wages of fresh-graduated workers for the older, who earn for their living and their families. If companies employ an unmarried young staff member, he will spend the most time in occupation, and have working performance worth his salary. To tackle this problem, the officials play an important role in creating changes. First of all, the government should adjust the retirement age and provide more social benefits to elderly employees. Specifically, the fact that the officials decrease the retirement age prevents businesses from recruiting overage staff. In addition, the previous generation who favour working instead of relaxing, encounter financial burdens; therefore, the legal bodies have to support them financially. Secondly, occupations which are less physically demanding should be trained for older workers. Specifically, for older citizens who are really keen on contributing, the government has to persuade them to do social work. In fact, a significant number of the previous generation are involved in volunteer groups, distributing food to the poor and delivering knowledge in remote areas. In conclusion, this phenomenon triggers a higher unemployment rate and the salaries paid to employees. Therefore, it is necessary to introduce several reasonable measures namely the elderly labour force should be offered social benefits and trained careers which request less physical strength.