All over the world, societies are facing a growing problem with obesity. This problem affects both children and adults. What are the reasons for this, and how could it be tackled?

In modern life, obesity is a significant problem that both adults and children are facing. This disease not only affects human's health, but also causes the burden on society. This essay will look at the reasons for this and propose some solutions. One of the clearest reason causing obesity is the high intake of junk food, such as hamburgers, chips or fried chicken. Many people prefer a takeaway meal or pre-prepared food in the supermarket, which contain lots of salt and fat, rather than cooking a healthy meal at home. For instance, in the UK, the sale of junk food has increased over the last few years. Another cause of obesity is inactive lifestyle. It is true that people's physical activities have changed due to the development of technology. Instead of playing outdoor sports, people spend their time watching TV or surfing the Internet. As a result, the amount of redundant energy we had consumed will easily transfer into fat. A solution is for the government to put up the tax on unhealthy food. This would make consumers decrease their intake of junk food and start spend Change the form of the verb spending show examples time preparing food at home. Another solution to tackle this problem is that parents should spend time teaching and playing with their children. Doing outdoor activities helps us easily burn energy, keep fit, as well as fresh our mind. Last, the way forward might be for the government to ban the advert of unhealthy food on TV or Internet. By this way, people do not have opportunity to catch attractive images of junk food which usually attract them to buy those products. To sum up, obesity becomes increasingly worrying issue affecting all age groups. In my view, government, parents, school are responsible to tackle this problem. Action must be taken urgently. Otherwise, our country will face even more serious problem in health.