Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foregin country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

In this day and age, learning a foreign language can be instrumental in our life. Some people, including me, believe that travelling and working in a foreign country are the only reasons for learning another language. Some others claim that there are other reasons for this. To begin with, learning a foreign language can enhance the travel experience, because if people are able to speak the language of the country they travel to, they can communicate with locals effectively, which can avoid misunderstanding. As a result, this leads to an enjoyable and memorable travel experience. For example, learning a new language gives a chance to people to navigate unfamiliar surroundings, order food, and get around the city easily. In addition, this can provide a competitive edge in people ’s careers, as many companies, especially in the fields of tourism, business, and marketing, are looking for employees who are bilingual or multilingual, because they can easily communicate with their colleagues or clients, which can bring some profits for the companies. On the other hand, picking up a non-native language can be a good way to exercise the brain, because it can boost some skills and abilities, such as cognitive abilities, solve-problem skills, and memory concentration. For instance, some doctors offer their elderly patients acquire a second language as a method for preventing or at least postponing Alzheimer’s disease. Moreover, knowing a foreign language can improve people ’s knowledge, because they can read many foreign books, which are a valuable source of information and are not written in their first languages. Nonetheless, all of these benefits can be acquired through alternative activities or games, which can help boost memory, like solving puzzles. Also, people can use many translator websites or applications to translate any books into their mother tongue. In conclusion, I believe that people should learn a foreign language,in order to work or travel abroad because it can enrich the overall travel experience, and also it provides better job opportunities. Anyone who studies a second language for exercising their brain or accessing foreign information can use other activities or translator applications.