More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending a short time in communities in poorer countries doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses. Why?Who benefit more from this, the community or these young people?

It is common these days that youth from developed countries to spend time in underdeveloped countries doing charity works such as teaching and building houses. Some people argue that this benefits the community as they receive informal education or property for free. However, I believe that both parties benefit from this activity. This essay will discuss why this becoming so popular as well as the benefits gained by both parties To begin with, young adults from western countries like to travel around the world for pleasure as well as look for unique experiences before they enrol in college or apply for a job. In my opinion, by doing so they will be more prepared for anything that may come in the future. Learning about other cultures as well as knowing that many people in the world still live in poverty will broaden their perspective and help them to become wiser adults. On the other hand, the community will also gain many advantages. For example, in my country Indonesia, I know that many young foreigners visit and live in rural areas such as Aceh, Papua, and East Nusa Tenggara. While they can enjoy the beautiful landscape of that areas they also teach English and other subjects such as maths for free to children who can not attend formal school. I am also impressed by the activities these groups to help local people such as building houses, cleaning the beaches, and so forth. To summarize, As a citizen from one of the developing countries in the world, I support young people from wealthy countries to spend a short time living and do charity in other countries as it benefits both the local community as well as themselves.