Many young people leave school with a negative attitude towards learning. What are the possible reasons for this? Suggest some solutions to address this problem. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many young people, nowadays, complete their school education with a negative outlook towards learning and education as a whole. This essay will identify the root causes of this trend, and propose a couple of effective solutions to address this situation. The first reason why many youths possess a negative mentality about learning is that most schools focus on learners’ academic performance while putting very little emphasis on developing their practical and important life skills. This makes learning less interesting while making youths wonder about the fruitfulness of learning. Oftentimes, when students finish school, they realise that practical skills are more important than academic achievements in society and job sectors; thus school -leavers are disappointed and lose their motivation to learn more. On top of that, the majority of teachers still use traditional methodologies in teaching which encourage and promote memorisation techniques for exams. As a result, students feel that learning is an arduous process, which is not stimulating at all. The result is rejecting attitudes toward further learning by school graduates. This problem could be solved to a great extent by adopting some pragmatic measures. The most effective solution, in my opinion, is that education must be harnessed to students’ needs for their future, and educators prioritise that when teaching in schools. Essentially, schools have to look at how to meet the demand of a changing society and provide more practical skills and knowledge to their pupils. Since teachers’ pedagogy style directly determines whether students enjoy learning or not, teachers should kindle students’ interest in learning by applying more engaging methods in the classroom. Finally, youths should be rewarded for their endeavour to learn and apply their knowledge, and the government can play a vital role here. For instance, they could be engaged in teaching juniors, working in libraries, writing in newspapers, and working in other places where they can constantly learn, earn and use their skills. To conclude, a large number of young people do not like learning after they leave school due to their negative attitude towards learning. I believe, effective measures, such as - changing the focus of schools, modifying teachers’ approaches to teaching, and engaging youths in works where they can earn and learn - could reverse the trend.