In many cities, more people are living alone. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

People choose to live on their own for many personal reasons. In my opinion, living alone can transform one’s life in a positive way. The most significant reason that people decide to leave their parent’s homes is to attain more privacy. For example, some adults want to move in with their boyfriends or girlfriends to get to know each other before they enter legal marriage. Alternatively, if they are living together in their parent’s place, this can possibly lead to an awkward position. Another reason can be that some people want to come out of their comfort zone and be more independent to face the challenges which their life presents. In addition to that people live alone to be able to focus more on their work and study as there can be interruptions when they live together with family. Having said the reasons for living alone in the above paragraph, this practice is a positive development. First, people can find out themselves without any others’ influence and interventions. It is very important to understand what we need and wants for our life before setting our life goals, education majors and careers. Second, people can gradually develop management and socializing skills when they live alone since they need to manage everything from daily chores to paying bills. Those skill sets are beneficial for their lives as they help them to cope with obstacles throughout their life. In conclusion, nowadays people in many cities opt to live on their own mainly for their personal development and I strongly support everyone should give it a try once in their life.