Some people suggest that children do not understand the world of work and schools should make all teenagers spend a short time working as well as studying academic subjects. To what extent do you agree?

There is a common idea that students are not being prepared for real-life challenges, and the solution will be to integrate a practical approach along with their studies so they can gain experience and theoretical knowledge. In my opinion, children should have the freedom to choose extra-curricular activities accompanied by academic studies. First of all, we are living in a complex world where people must have a lot of skills and abilities already developed at a young age. Furthermore, some institutions adapted their teaching methods to a more demanding world and kids are being taught project work and how to implement their ideas in a creative way. For example, a study showed that a work-study balanced approach will help younger ones to develop aptitudes and critical thinking. Secondly, schools are not preparing teenagers to face real-life issues, and only studying academic subjects alone will not teach them professional skills. Moreover, giving opportunities for students to combine theory with practice will expand their views of life and will teach them how to make decisions. For instance, China is one of a few countries where students have duties at a young age and they have the freedom to choose their classes. For example, they can practice cooking, sewing, or even hand-crafting. To conclude, no doubt that a short time of work will benefit young people and society, and it will give them a new approach to the world, and institutions have to put more effort into introducing special programs so teenagers can choose their own career path at a young age.