Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. People have different views about how governments should measure their countries’ progress. Some people, including me, believe that while economic growth is essential, other types of progress are as important. Economic growth, on the one hand, there are three key reasons why this can be seen as a fundamental goal for countries. Firstly, a healthy economy results in job creation, a high level of improvement, and better salaries for citizens. Secondly, economic growth ensures that enough money is available for governments to spend on infrastructure and public services. For example, a government with higher revenues can invest in public transport networks, public health, and education. Finally, a strong economy can help a country’s standing on the global stage, in terms of political influence and trading power. Nonetheless, if governments prioritize economic development only, it cannot increase national happiness. On the other hand, there are other types of improvement, which are as significant as the economic factors mentioned above. In particular, we should consider the area of social justice, human rights, equality, and democracy itself. For example, the treatment of minority groups is often seen as a reflection of a moral standard and the level of development of a society. In addition, the progress of a society can be measured by looking at the public health, well-being, and happiness of its residents or how well that country protects the environment. In conclusion, I believe that the economy is obviously instrumental in a country's progress, but social, health, and environment are equally significant.