There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, most parents are forcing their children to follow an academic major and become a professional in the future. They argue that by removing non-academic syllabi, children can put all their effort into developing themselves in academic fields. I agree that it's important to schedule school classes in a more academic way; however, I believe that removing all non-academic subjects is not an educated decision. On the one hand, the main reason for studying in academic institutions like schools is to prepare children for pursuing academic fields at universities, and offering more academic lessons during childhood can build their educational foundation for the following years. For example, if a child decides to become a medical doctor, having strong biological knowledge is a crucial part of their toolkit. Thus, there is no doubt that learning academic subjects requires a significant portion of the school timetable. On the other hand, teaching extracurricular activities such as art, music, and sport is one of the most effective methods to nourish children at early ages with useful skills. For instance, learning football is a good way to teach pupils teamwork. These skills are as important as professional knowledge. The ability to act as a valuable team player is a vital skill even in serious professions like surgery. For this reason, I contend that removing these programs is not a good idea; they can equip young individuals with broader skills to contribute to society. In conclusion, I believe that as long as academic subjects are priorities, it is also important to hold some extracurricular classes at schools. This attitude can provide a strong balance between a student's knowledge and skills.