Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems. To what extend do you agree ?

Governments all over the world allocate a proportion of their budget to improve road networks as well as public transportation. However, some people opine that governments should spend money on improving roads rather than public transport. In my opinion, this statement is justifiable although the importance of bettering common transport should not be neglected as well. In my view, state funding is more crucial to the construction of up-to-date designs than ever before. This is because poorly-maintained roads and motorways have created previously-unknown troubles, such as massive traffic congestion, rising car accidents, and technical damage to automobiles. In one word, the conditions of motorways and dual-carriageway roads are admittedly inferior and do not meet the standard. While, if governments spent more money on creating better road infrastructures, the problems I mentioned above would not have been born. Certainly, it is logical to think that better roads will make both private and public transportation more efficient. On the other hand, with my strong emphasis on road funding, I do not intend to undermine the necessity of investing in public transport. It is no wonder that the vast majority of citizens are still dependent on buses, subways, and trams, for example, to travel every day. Hence, improving and replacing old vehicles with newer models should be in the interest of states. Despite this though, even the most well-equipped  and modern public transportation does not do justice if problems associated with roads are not first solved. In conclusion, indeed shortages in road infrastructure have created numerous issues for people. For this reason, this essay examined why it is more important to subsidize motorways even though the significance of ameliorating public transport should not be forgotten.