1-Museums and art galleries should focus on works that show the history and culture of their own country rather than works of other parts of the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a view that suggests the attention of museums and art exhibitions should solely be drawn to the artifacts which represent their heritage rather than the culture of other nations. In my opinion, it is completely logical to assume that it would be better for them to do so. From the perspective of some, learning about other cultures and history could be extremely useful. There exists a massive amount of lessons in other nations’ history which could be found nowhere in ours, and thus, must be pore over and illustrated to people to stimulate the growth of our nation. The concept of secularism, for example, has been practised in the United States since its foundation, yet youngsters would not really understand the essence of it like their peers in the European countries where for a significant period of their history, Europeans had struggled with the intrusion of religion in the governance. Each nation should learn about other cultures as well as its own because it may involve new lessons. I, however, feel that museums should concentrate on their own culture, as these illustrations would have the most impact on individuals and they would bring the most of it. This is simply due to the fact that individuals will essentially not only care more about their heritage than other countries but also know a much greater deal about its prior, so it would be easier to follow the possible storyline. On the contrary, the artifacts of others may feel tedious and strange since visitors know hardly a thing about them. Familiarity with culture can make it more interesting for museum and art gallery visitors to learn and be more effective. Moreover, it is suitable for these exhibitions to connect with each other and establish a more comprehensive network for culture vultures to follow. After learning about a historical event or artist’s work, a motivated person can easily see the relevant artefact in a nearby exhibition or can find them in a network of galleries conveniently. As a case in point, in the United States students learn about the civil war in their history books. The manifestation of this can be exploited in any museum and theme park near the corner, whereas the British revolution would not be properly illustrated in these exhibitions even if students were able to explore somewhere with the relevant artifacts. People can learn better about their culture and art because it is possible to observe them. In conclusion, regardless of how some might feel, I’m convinced that museums and art galleries should concentrate on presenting artifacts of their own nation and heritage.