Many people believe that countries should produce food for all population and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the globalization, trade between countries is growing rapidly, including in food. Many people argue that countries should supply food for all populations and avoid importing food. Personally, I do not agree with this idea. There is no doubt that if the agricultural market depends on international corporations, a great amount of cheap imported food products would flood into the local market and have adverse impacts on domestic producers. They cannot obtain enough income from agriculture and may be reluctant to cultivate. As a result, more and more local farmers would give up and food security would be threatened especially during international conflict and instability. Furthermore, quality inspection of imported food is also a challenge. Imported food varies widely in quality, and some of which may even carry viruses. Without proper management, poor-quality imported food would pose a threat to people’s lives and health. However, it is unrealistic to produce the entire diverse food required by all populations. some nations like some polar nations do not have enough land which is suitable for agriculture and they are incapable of cultivating tropical fruits and vegetables. So they are more likely to depend on imported food to a considerable extent. In addition, some processed foods would require more than simply controlled temperatures and humidity if this idea were put into action, and its production would cause great harm to the environment by releasing greenhouse gases and discharging wastewater. In a nutshell, I believe that imported food should play an important role in the food market because it can help diversify food on people’s tables. But the government should strengthen supervision and limit the quantity to protect local farmers’ market share to avoid threats to domestic food safety.