Some people believe that studying the past can teach nothing about life today.  Others believe that history is a valuable source of information for life today. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Nowadays history is a compulsory subject in many countries and students have to learn it to pass their final exams. Some people consider that studying history is useless for students while others argue that the past provides a great amount of information for life today. In my opinion, history is significant to students’ growth and development. Some people hold the opinion that studying the past is a waste of time and has no benefits to their growth. The development of advanced technology has greatly changed society. With the spread of vehicles like trains and planes, it is easier for travel enthusiasts to travel to other cities or even other countries far away within a few hours. The development of water transport dramatically promotes world trade. Citizens in an inland country, for instance, are now possible to enjoy various seafood by importing them from other countries. In addition, many diseases that were incurable in the past are now curable because of the advancement of medical technology. Cutting-edge technology has changed every aspect of people ’s lives, so, understandably, some people think that science is more useful and history can teach nothing about life today. Some people argue that history is an important source of information for life today. History is the combination of the wisdom of ancestors. People can learn lots of valuable knowledge by exploring historical stories. For instance, they could have a better understanding of teamwork and cooperation through a war. Also, if someone reads a story about some people drinking too much beverage and missing important occasions, they will realize that drinking too much beverage is not a good habit and they will prevent this from happening in the future. In a nutshell, although some people think that history cannot impart useful things for life, I think it is still an important information source for everyone.