Some people believe that excessive use of modern technologies, such as computers and smartphones, is negatively affecting the reading and writing skills of our young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The over-usage of highly developed technology has become educational argument, especially when it regards young generation. Many people hold the opinion that reading and writing abilities of school-age children, can become affected in a negative way. Those who disagree point out that modern technology is an integrated and an unavoidable part of our present and future. We must acknowledge that modern technology has taken over the world. Nevertheless, the older generation argues that children who use smart devices excessively, lose the ability to develop their writing skills. By daily usage of computers or smartphones, for example, typing over handwriting naturally becomes their preference. In addition, the gramma can be auto-corrected by intelligent programs. As a result, there is no need of learning the rules of writing. Not only writing, but also reading skills can be affected by the ‘clever’ machines. After all, who would bother to read when all the knowledge from books can be read aloud back to them by virtual authors. Although it is hard to compete with the above arguments, some people disagree with negativity related to the modern technology. Even if the reading and writing skills are affected by the usage of smart devices in a minor way, the advantage of it is far way more beneficial for growing adolescents. In particular, those who struggle with their writing or reading skills can benefit from supportive programs, such as Grammarly or Autocorrect. Also, reading can be improved by some computer programs and exercises. Therefore, there is no need to limit yourself from the choices that the modern world of the technology gives us. In conclusion, both aspects have some benefits and drawbacks but I believe that technology tools can support and improve young people’s language skills.