Nowadays many teenagers have a celebrity who they follow as a role model. Some people think this is not a good idea, because celebrities often set a bad example. Do you agree or disagree?

Celebrities have been present in our society for as far as we can remember. We all have our idols and famous people that we are fond of or admire for a variety of reasons. However, nowadays, many influential people do not represent good role modelling for the younger generation. Popular stars, such as actors and singers live uncommon lives for a normal, nine-to-five-working human being. For instance, they share on social media their money splurge on extremely expensive goods, such as designer clothes or expensive cars, setting up poor role modelling for young people. This type of behaviour promotes a materialistic lifestyle and a lack of moral values. After all, there are more important things in people ’s lives than money. Additionally, the young generation looks up to celebrities’ lifestyles with fascination and jealousy forgetting what is important in our lives. The unreal image of the socially presented style of living by the world of fame is based on endless parties, drugs and alcohol, seen as the only reason for our existence. Similarly, there is no promotion of family values and traditions visible to young fans, who could feed their hungry minds with important messages, which would benefit their awaiting adulthood. In conclusion, I totally agree that young people are fed with bad influence from their famous idols, which leads to an absence of moral and family values, as well as growing ignorance of traditions. Until youngsters set their own goals and values in life and disconnect from the imaginary lifestyles of celebrities, the bad impact, unfortunately, will be visible throughout their existence.