Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is evident that children who use their smartphones on a daily basis have significantly increased. This essay will highlight the reason why they always stay online and what can be drawbacks of it. To begin with, I assume that young students can do whatever they want with their smartphones is the key reason why they cannot reduce smartphone use time. To illustrate, there are tons of features available within a smartphone such as watching videos, playing games, and texting with friends. In other words, children these days do not have to go to a specific place to have fun. This is mainly because they can access different platforms and services regardless of place and time. Therefore, I strongly argue that this is a negative development. Firstly, young kids cannot manage their time properly. A number of various media and content online are highly addictive. Thus, smartphones take a toll on learning time managing skills. Moreover, kids prefer staying indoors to playing outside with peers nowadays. Since they are used to spending their free time with their smartphones, children no longer go outside for physical activities like playing soccer. This leads to health risks including obesity. Take children's obesity rate as an example, it drastically went up by 7% compared to 10 years ago when digital devices were not common. In conclusion, the technological development in portable gadgets and online services made children used to browsing digital environments. I think that this phenomenon became a huge social problem in terms of children's personal growth and physical health.