In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Some people support the idea of big investments in expanding new railroads for high-speed trains between cities. In contrast, some argue it should be funded to improve the existing transportation system. If we use an example from a developing country like Thailand, improving the original commune system is a better solution. In many developed countries, high-speed trains are already daily transportation tools. For example, Japanese people took Shinkansen, known as the bullet train, to work daily. Because developed countries already have efficient public transport systems, expanding new routes for fast trains became their current goal. In contrast, if we turn our focus to a developing country such as Thailand, we will see a huge difference. Facing unpleasant traffic jams, Thai people really hope to reduce the time spent on the road as much as possible. However, Bangkok's subway or above-ground train is not yet well developed, thus, office workers choose to commute using private vehicles. From a developing country perspective, by increasing the number of routes and stations, commuters can travel conveniently. Because the originally constructed routes are already based on people's preferences, the government should pay for additional train route constructions, extend from the main one, and strengthen the existing system. For instance, the blue subway line in Bangkok is convenient for workers who work in the downtown area, but inconvenient for employees working in the suburban area, where there is no subway line. In conclusion, the importance of funding depends on the situation of that country. If it is a well-developed country, expanding new routes is better. However, if it is an under-developing country, strengthen existed transportation systems must be prioritised.