Some countries achieve international sports by building specialised facilities to train top athletes, instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think this is positive or negative development? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is known that some countries that are superpowers in certain sports invest in sophisticated facilities to offer high-quality training to top athletes in order to maintain their international position. However, these nations do not provide public sports centres for the rest of the community interested in practising these kinds of activities. In this essay, I will discuss both points of view to analyse if this represents a positive or negative development. Firstly, providing buildings to train professional sportspersons worldwide recognised is something very positive for them in order to improve their careers. For instance, United Estates owns a high-standard sports centre dedicated to training intensively for years to remarkable athletes who compete in the Olympic Games, and most of them usually finish their competence right on the podium, winning a lot of medals. In this case, I can clearly connect their previous preparation in these facilities with the results obtained, which means that this scheme of training really works. On the other hand, the fact that the same countries that support the best professionals almost unconditionally avoid providing similar services to the rest of society is quite elitist. For example, if people with fewer economic resources cannot access a paid gymnasium, will probably lose their chance of dedicating themselves to any sports activity or even worse, losing the possibility of growing as a professional and having a career. Because of this politics, many young amazing people with huge potential are pushed away by the system. To summarise, I consider that it is great that athletes can train strictly in well-prepared buildings to reach their international goals. However, it would be better if this kind of service would be open to everyone who wants to try sports and develop their abilities, as I consider that governments should guarantee the same possibilities to every citizen.