More and more students choose to go to another country for their higher education. Do you think the benefits outweigh the problems associated with it?

There is no doubt getting a higher education degree in another country is becoming more and more common nowadays. While the overseas study has its drawbacks, the difficulties are far outweighed by the advantages. The first advantage of studying overseas is that many employers consider the overseas experience a positive and enriching attribute for any employee. They believe that a person who has qualified from a reputed college or university in a developed country is capable of working in a diverse workspace, and has the ability to adapt to change. Thus, students with an overseas education have better employability. Secondly, students get a chance to learn about other cultures. This makes them more broad-minded and more accepting of people from different backgrounds. In addition, students get a chance to practice and learn a foreign language. Learning a new language is always challenging but being able to practice with native speakers is the best way to become comfortable with it. Finally, being alone in a foreign country makes a student independent and self-reliant in terms of solving issues and making important decisions. Not only that, they learn how to manage most household chores themselves. For example in a foreign country, they have to manage all the tasks like cooking, laundry and cleaning on their own. On the other hand, there are some challenges faced by students going abroad for higher education. The most difficult situation can be the culture shock a student has to face. The environment may be completely different, which may lead to homesickness and loneliness. Apart from this, overseas education is expensive and students face difficulties due to it. For example, some students take considerable educational loans for such opportunities and there is added stress of paying back such loans after completing education. In conclusion, while any anxiety about going overseas for university study is certainly understandable, I believe that the benefits offered by the experience make it well worthwhile.