In some countries, some high school leavers choose to work or travel for a period of time before going to university. Discuss the disadvantages and advantages of these school leavers’ decisions and give your opinion.

After finishing high school, some students prefer to take a gap year traveling or working, before starting their studies at university. This essay attempts to shed light on both the merits and demerits of this tendency before concluding that the former is more significant. On the one hand, taking a stage off from studies is disadvantageous to some extent. Students may be suffering from peer pressure. This is because they start their university education a time behind their peers causing a delay in acquiring their bachelor’s degree. In addition, The expense of taking a year-long break to travel could be a drawback. More specifically, If they choose to travel after finishing high school, they would have to pay a great deal of money for trip expenses. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that having a break between high school and university may sound like a good idea. One reason is that young people could broaden their knowledge and gain new skills through experiential learning. For instance, traveling abroad could help youngsters to acquire a new language, which contributes to developing their language ability. Another reason is that this decision would allow students enough time to clarify their future careers. This means they could take some time off to find out what they are really passionate about, which would be vital for their career choice later in life. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that taking some time off studying to explore the world can cause disruptions to a student's future academic progress, I would contend that a gap period can also provide an opportunity for individuals to be well-prepared for the future and expand their practical knowledge.