When you learn a foreign language, all four skills (listening, reading, speaking, writing) are equally important. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the development of the economy and globalization, the connection between all countries has been strengthening. it is necessary for our individuals to have sound knowledge of different types of foreign languages and more people are willing to learn another language. Some people may argue that all four skills are equally important or there is one skill more critical than others. All four skills, I think, are of the same importance. For one reason, the four skills are closely relevant. Without listening, you cannot understand others’ opinions and learn how to express your own view. Also, you can comprehend how to use collocation and paraphrase while reading, contributing to better writing ability. At the same time, coherence and cohesion are very much important while speaking with others to interpret the information that is being discussed. You can cultivate your sense of language by learning every skill. Another reason is that you need abilities in all four aspects to conquer the language barrier. When you want to pursue higher education, for example, the criterion of prestigious universities regards all four skills. You need to listen to what the teachers have taught and jot down notes and write an essay to complete your assignment. When you are obsessed with some fascinating foreign books which have few translated versions or you are supposed to look up references, you need to read these books. Furthermore, a wide range of vocabulary with accuracy in spelling and a vibrant grammatical range is mandatory in any business communications. In a nutshell, attaching equal significance to all four aspects of international language learning is absolutely necessary. Different aspects of learning can promote each other and mastering all skills is truly mastering this foreign language.