Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage dose plastic do to the environment? What can be done by government and individuals to solve this problem?

There is no doubt that plastic products are becoming increasingly popular due to their larger shell life. Despite their durability these things are harmful to the environment. In this essay, I will explain the adverse effects of using plastic and provide some ways which can be adopted by the administration and people to tackle this issue. On the one hand, it is common knowledge that plastic is a non-biodegradable material. This is not only harmful to the surrounding, but also to the beings living inside it. For instance, bags made of plastic can easily clog up drains and sewers. Because the sewage system is blocked, people have to physically unclog them and restore the flow. Doing this workers can contract a number of life-threatening diseases such as leprosy and other skin issues. Moreover, the use of plastic can also result in spreading soil and water pollution. On the other hand, we can solve these issues by incorporating strict policies and laws. The administration of the country can introduce new stringent rules and regulations which can oversee the use of plastic materials. For example, putting a ban on plastic packaging or taxing the customers who buy such products can help in reducing the materials' usage. In addition, people can also help in contributing to this cause by encouraging the use of biodegradable and natural resources like paper, bamboo and wood. If we can limit the usage of these products, then our environment will be much safer and cleaner. In conclusion, although there are many detrimental effects of using plastic like contracting skin diseases and spreading pollution, we can tackle these problems efficiently if the government imposes heavy taxes on these materials and puts forth stringent laws and policies. Furthermore, we can also help in improving the situation by using natural alternatives.