The death penalty is a contentious issue in many states and countries around the world. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the number of people getting death sentences is increasing tremendously. People argue that the death penalties are a violation of human rights and should be prohibited whereas there are a lot of people who support it. This topic is highly debated across the world. There are both profits and losses to this. This essay will try to cover both sides with relevant examples. The advantage of the death penalty is that it induces fear among the citizens of the country and will stop them from committing crimes. For example, a recent study indicates that there has been a sharp decline in the number of robberies in the last few years since the government in Cambodia started giving out such penalties to robbers. One of the disadvantages of this punishment is the lack of fair trial. Most of the ones who are accused do not have access to go good lawyers. In this case, the accused are not in a position to defend themselves when they are not guilty. If such a person is awarded this sentence it would be called institutional murder. For Instance, a recent trial verdict proved that a 32-year-old man was not guilty of murder instead he was framed. If such accused are hanged it would cause severe injustice. Another disadvantage is that jails are meant to rehabilitate not kill them. Giving out such sentences destroys the purpose of jails. For Example, in the case of Alison of London who was accused of murder was given 20 years in jail. After she was released she changed and started a centre for widows and has provided means for them to make a living. In conclusion, even though there are upper hands and edges to this type of punishment. The disadvantages outweigh the advantages. So awarding such punishments should be gradually reduced.