Nhat 1: Some People think that the government should be responsible for crime prevention, while others believe that it is the responsibility of the individual to protect themselves. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether the administration should keep a check on lawlessness and provide its citizens with a safe environment or whether individuals must take precautions to keep them safe. This essay examines both viewpoints, along with my opinion that collective efforts should be required to deter the offence. Granted, many argue that safety is in one’s hands. This is simply because the police force cannot be present at all times in all places to defend people from criminals. Thus, individuals should stay aware of the occurrences surrounding them and keep themselves updated with the latest criminal incidents in order not to fall into the traps of criminal gangs. Nowadays, cybercriminals who steal the private data of bank users are on the increase. As a result, it is highly likely for anyone to be stolen bank accounts and money inside if they neglect cyber security. Consequently, individuals should protect themselves before calling for assistance from other sources. However, it is also claimed that the administration should maintain peaceful order and security to protect its citizens. The main reason for this is that government offices operate based on citizens’ taxes. Hence, being secure is one of the fundamental rights that taxpayers desire to be entitled to. Another reason is that authorities have the high power to change the situation positively. In particular, they are expected to amend the criminal legal system to punish heavily lawbreakers and increase the number and the quality of police forces within the reach of people in order to keep them safe. In that respect, everyone can focus on developing the country rather than worrying about crime. In conclusion, I believe both sides of the argument have their merits. Nevertheless, on balance, I recommend the responsibilities for this issue should be taken on by both levels. In other words, every criminal activity cannot be eliminated only by either the individual or the government. Additionally, these effective measures for crime prevention should be practised more prevalently, rather than only a theory.