Some believe that traffic problems in cities can best be resolved by investing in urban infrastructure while others feel there are superior solutions. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

With the development of urbanization, there are more and more cars entering big cities, so traffic issues there become serious. Some people think that these problems can be solved through investing in urban infrastructure. I believe that this can be a solution, but improving rural area also works. It is generally accepted that constructing infrastructure in urban areas can alleviate the traffic problem, since residents will have more choices. If the downtown area of a city does not have underground and buses, people living there must drive their own cars if they want to travel more than 3 kilometres. Since small vehicles take up lots of space, roads will be very congested. On the contrary, if a subway is built in a city, some people will choose to take them instead of their vehicles. Moreover, a train is capable of carrying hundreds of people, which means hundreds of cars will disappear on the road. Eventually, when more and more people use the metro, the traffic on the road will improve significantly. On the other hand, the investment in rural areas can also mitigate the traffic issues in cities. As we may know, cities are attractive to people because they can provide sufficient job opportunities, good medical service, and a massive number of shopping malls. If residents can find a great deal of these resources in their hometown, they would probably decide not to move to cities. By opening more shops and constructing more roads in underdeveloped areas, the gap between urban and rural areas will be narrowed. Consequently, some immigrants in big cities will also go back to their hometowns. As the number of people in cities is declining, the traffic will become more fluent. In conclusion, the investment and construction of facilities in cities can reduce the traffic problem there, because people will have additional options for their travel. However, upgrading the infrastructure in rural areas can also resolve the problem, since cities will become less appealing and some residents will leave cities.