Many people believe that countries should produce food for all population and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Globalisation has played a significant role in increasing the volume of trading between countries. It is widely seen that the trading of food items around the world has prompted people to think that countries should put more emphasis on increasing the production to serve the entire population and try to minimize the quantity which is imported. I completely agree with this notion and believe that this should soon be implemented. This essay will discuss about this suggestion in detail and justify my stance. The cross border trading inflates the price of the food items which are subjected to transit costs and taxations while it is relatively much cheaper when it is produced domestically. If the production is increased to the quantity that it serves entire population, it will bring collective good for the country as it will bring down prices of food products. A good illustration of this is the fact that the massive agriculture industry of India plays a gigantic role in them having lowest food costs around the globe. Since inflated prices make it tough for some underprivileged to get food items, this move will ease their struggles. In order to increase the production, more skilled farmers workers are required to achieve the objective. Thus, this will not only suffice the basic needs of the civilians, it will also lead to creation of plentiful jobs. This will lead to increase int the employment rate which will eventually foster economic growth of the state. For an instance, Indian government stressed a lot on increasing the volume of their food production in the last decade which led to a huge 17% decrease in unemployment. To conclude, it is better to encourage the domestic agriculture industry and reduce the volume of imported food items. Not only it will reduce the food costs domestically, it will also aid the economic growth of the country at the same time.