We have three important parts of education: reading, writing and math. Some people think every child will benefit from a fourth skill added to the list: computer skills. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people propose that computer skills should be regarded as an additional part of education. While I do agree that computer skills are indispensable in today's times, I do not agree that these should be added as a subject. Undoubtedly, computers play an important role in our life. They have become an indispensable part of our lives. In workplaces and even in homes, they have made their presence felt. Computers, topped with the internet have brought many new opportunities in the lives of people. That is perhaps why some people opine that computer skills should be added to the school curricula. However, important as computer skills may be in today's world, I do not think it necessarily means computer skills should be taught to every child in school. Most schoolchildren today are under heavy academic pressure and so, adding computer skills to their curriculum surely means an extra burden to them. Besides, it has to be noted that today's computer technologies are ever-changing. Software is frequently updated. This means that the computer skills students learn today will probably become obsolete in a few months. Finally, the development of technologies has made most of today's computers user-friendly. Therefore, even a person who is totally computer illiterate can learn the minimum basics in a few hours and the rest is all practice. For example, many young children can proficiently use an I-pad to read or write. So, to those children who can already operate a computer well, it is obvious that there is no need to teach them a skill they are already good at. To conclude, while it has to be admitted that computer skills are crucial today, the nature of computer technologies (ever-changing, user-friendly) has made computer skills an unnecessary skill for school children to learn. For this reason, I disagree with the opinion that computer skills should be added to the school curriculum.