Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinions.

It is sometimes argued that promotions are thoroughly effective in motivating people to purchase products, whereas others claim that advertisements are too prevailed to enhance consumer spending. Although there are some truths in the latter opinion, I mainly consider advertising is still one of the main tools to promote people ’s shopping. Some people who consider advertising no longer helpful may maintain that consumers are so bored with advertisements that they immediately skip or ignore their content. A case in point is the frequent appearance of promotions on free online video platforms, such as YouTube. Within every few minutes, the advertisements appear on the screen to disturb watching videos, which evokes a negative impression of advertising to neglect to watch it. Thus, the audience does not recognise the contents of the advertisements. However, I believe that advertising works effectively in general. The first reason why I think this way is that there are many unique promotions that remain in consumers’ memories. If people hear the name of a product several times with rhythmical sounds, its name is edged in their brains unconsciously. As a result, when consumers go to shops and find that item, they tend to recognise this product as attractive. Moreover, the emerging business model that provides users with free content, such as gaming apps, with revenues from advertisements sponsored by other companies can be the fact proving this promoting system is still practical. This means that many companies consider that they can increase the sales of their products by advertising. To sum up, although too many promotions in daily life sometimes demotivate people to see them, there are still positive effects of encouraging people to buy merchandise. Therefore, I conclude that advertising is an effective measure.