More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in foreign countries. Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

Studying overseas started to become popular in recent years. Many students decided to study in a different country during their high school and college years. In this essay, I will examine whether the benefit of studying abroad triumph the downsides. On one hand, students believe that there are more options in other countries than in the local setting. For example, in the context of Hong Kong, there are only two universities that offer medical degrees for pupils. Often, even if an individual obtained good academic results in the national public examination, he or she will still require to compete with others to get into the program. This had led to a significant number of Hong Kong teenagers choosing to study in a place where more options are available to them, such as the UK, the US, Canada, and Australia. Additionally, studying abroad during the teenage years can undeniably allow a person to become independent. Spending time alone in a foreign country can be challenging sometimes. This is particularly obvious when a person gets sick, he/she will need to take care of themselves throughout the sick period. On the other hand, some people argue that we should not let teens move abroad too early as they will lose discipline. In fact, there is a certain amount of kids who are "studying" abroad purchase the latest cars and handbags with their parents' money. Another drawback could be the difficulties of finding a job in their motherland if they choose to enter the local job market. Even though some countries claim that they value someone with an overseas qualification, small companies often close the door to these overseas graduates. Not only because they are frightened by their overseas qualification but also because they perceived these graduates will not be able to fit into the company. Therefore, the job market for returning graduates will be grim. In conclusion, I personally believe the advantages of studying abroad triumph over the disadvantages as it offers greater options and opportunities to the students. Furthermore, it enables them to become independent at a young age. Although some people might not fully support the idea of studying overseas, we should take their advice with caution.