Young people are often influenced in their behaviours and situations by others in the same age. This is called "peer pressure". Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages.

In contemporary society, young individuals who have been subject to peer pressure may have begun to demonstrate emotional and behavioural changes. While this type of pressure can help teens consolidate their behaviour and their performance in the classroom, I assume that it can also have an adverse bearing on their mental health. It is undeniable that through regular interaction with constructive examples and perspectives of peers, who are in a similar age group or social status, the primary benefit for young students is the possibility of forming and maintaining frequent academic practices. Those adolescents tend to take others, especially those with whom they have admiration, as role models. Consequently, the presence of positive role models boosts the likelihood of academic and even social achievement among young pupils. For example, observing a peer’s success in a prestigious intellectual competition, such as Road to Mount Olympia - a well-known competition for outstanding students to showcase their intelligence - can motivate other students to study industriously and enhance their performance at school. Nevertheless, I believe that the adverse effects of peer pressure on an individual's mental well-being overshadow its benefits. It is worth noting that this tendency can increase stress levels in the young, which in turn can make them feel inadequate or become reticent when expressing their opinions and personal ideas. If a sense of anxiety and depression persists without proper adjustment, this can result in the suicide of many emotionally driven young people, a very undesirable outcome. For example, in 2022, a Vietnamese boy committed suicide by jumping off a tall building as a form of protest against his father’s insistence that he studied for a long period of time at the expense of sleep and entertainment. He was so pressured by his father and peers to perform outstandingly in school as well as gain a respectable university in Hanoi that he made an impulsive decision to end his life. In conclusion, peer pressure has the potential to be a positive force for reinforcing personal abilities, however,I personally believe that its highly devastating impact on students’ mentality.