Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In this modern world, a number of youngsters are using their mobile phones for several hours each day. I suppose it is not a positive breakthrough. This essay will explore why it is becoming commonplace and why it will have negative impacts on them in future. Due to technological advances, the human lifestyle has been revolutionised and scions normally start using technology from an early age. An important case leading to children ’s addiction to smartphones is that most parents are dual-income nowadays and don’t have sufficient time for their offspring. Whenever their child which is mostly the only child, through a tantrum they will use their mobile phone as a pacifier. Another underlying reason for school children is they are forced to use smartphones for e-learning. The covid-19 pandemic lockdown is a clear indication that propels children to have their own digital phones which has a lot of attraction. Therefore, for the sake of some determining factor, children ’s life is tied to this latest technology. Digitalization normally has a lot of pros and cons but it is totally clear that its drawbacks outweigh the benefits. Mental and physical health is a fundamental issue. Nowadays children ’s hobbies and entertainment are mostly playing online games which they had installed on their cellphones. Their physical activities have decreased and violent scenes in these games are not appropriate for their age. Furthermore, it has severe effects on their eyesight. According to scholars’ experiments, humans less blink while they are using digital devices and it mostly leads to eye pressure. For instance, the statistics have shown that in Malaysia almost 70% of children from 7-12 have eye problems. Therefore, it is very essential to establish standards in order to mitigate its side effect. Such as limited daily hours’ time for using smartphones, parents forcing children to rest after 20 minutes and so on. It is an incontestable fact that we cannot keep our offspring away from technology, but imposing certain restrictions and standards can be effective. To sum up, the variety of attractive mobile applications also educational and social aspects have caused them to rise in using smartphones which have some important and somehow irreversible impacts on children.