In many countries today, parents are able to choose to send their children to single-sex schools or co-educational schools. Some people think that children going to single-sex schools have disadvantages later in life. To what extent do you agree?

It is undeniable that single-sex schools and co-educational ones are totally different in terms of school policies. However, some people propound that sending their children to co-educational is more beneficial when they grow up. In my opinion, I agree with this statement. On the one hand, co-educational schools has many benefits to children. To put it simply, most parents believe that co-educational environment is more pleasant as there is no separation between boys and girls, which is important because kids will be able to have better understandings of other genders. Also, such environment promotes life-long friendship. The earlier students know each other, the longer relationship lasts. Take an example of Thai students, almost all schools encourage children to have friends from other schools by local community activities. On the other hand, it is considered by many that single-sex schools are outdated, which many countries have already abolished this practice for many decades. To put it further, it seem to me that this method have many drawbacks. Firstly, it encourages children to become highly competitive and isolates children from other genders. That is to say, children might never have an opportunity to get to know friends who have a different gender, therefore, they will have a much smaller circle of friends, compared to the co-educational schools. As a result of this, some students may lack of relationships with other sexes. In conclusion, most parents find co-educational schools more advantageous because they can have better chances later in life. From my perspective, I completly agree with this notion.