Some people think that it is good for a country's culture to import foreign movies and TV programmes. Others think that it is better to produce these locally. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this contemporary society, overseas films and programmes have absolutely attracted a myriad of local viewers. While some people show much interest in these options, others oppose that only local movies and shows should be shown on TV. In this essay, I will examine both viewpoints; however, I advocate the importing of other cultural channels. On the one hand, the popularity of foreign channels causes a threat to the national movie industry. It is a matter of fact that other countries' movie businesses such as Hollywood, Korean, and Thai films are so great at visual editing and content management that they always keep the audience on the edge of their seat, which few local films can achieve. For instance, when the blockbuster Avatar 2 was released, it immediately became a box-office hit. As a result, two other Vietnamese films shown at the same time could not compete and got a drop in ticket sales. On the other hand, supporters of non-native programmes suppose that local TV watchers enormously benefit from observing them. The initial merit is that a better understanding of different cultures in the world provides folks with a huge amount of knowledge; as a consequence, culture shock can be avoided. For example, thanks to watching Western movies, when I first went to England, I knew that I should call my English teachers by their first names, which is really odd in Vietnamese tradition. Another advantage is language learners can make the most of following foreign programmes as a means of studying. Because there is a variety of reality shows with daily conversations available for people who want to become bilingual or multilingual, students will be the first to enjoy the limitless sources of material. To conclude, although local programme producers may meet some difficulties competing with international shows, this is the motivation for them to try harder to release better products. I believe this trend is justified as TV users can derive benefits from watching different types of channels.