Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that volunteer work could be beneficial not only on a personal level, but also on a social level. However, I do not agree that all young people should be forced to devote their leisure time to such unpaid work. In my opinion, young people should be given the opportunity to become a volunteer in their local community. The task of schools, the media and even the government is to encourage young people to gain experience in volunteering, rather than pushing them to do the work as an obligation. They could, for example, tell young people that through such work they may come to realise more of their own value and may see more possibilities for their future. Some of the experiences may serve as inspiration for their lifelong career path. Forcing people to do anything against their will is against the values of a free and fair society, therefore young people always have the right to make decisions. Meanwhile, I would suggest that the local community should do something more or less in return, such as holding a small celebration, preparing some handmade gifts and writing a letter. Those events are a great way to express gratitude on behalf of the community and the youngsters will be aware that their active participation in this unpaid work is meaningful. Through their work, they can help others to make a difference, even if it is a small one. In conclusion, young people should be given the opportunity to experience more through volunteering, and the community can do something to show their appreciation. And for young people, this should never be compulsory.