Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It is sometimes argued that the extinction of specific flora and fauna species should be the first priority among environmental problems. Although there is some truth in this claim, I believe other problems, especially climate change, are more significant in terms of imminent harm to daily life. It is true that there are several negative impacts that the loss of biodiversity will cause. One serious downside is losing opportunities to discover new chemicals, as nature has been a great source of helpful substances throughout human history. For example, one of the common approaches to finding a new medicine is to extract chemicals from new species of animals and plants. Hence, decreasing species lowers the probability of accessing a new medication. On the other hand, in my opinion, climate change causes severe damage to human life, which can be unavoidable if people do not take action as soon as possible. Firstly, due to the rising temperature, sea levels in the world are going up, evoking the assumption that some of the island or low land-level places might be soaked in the foreseeable future. Secondly, this environmental issue triggers more frequent natural disasters, such as heavy rain causing floods, than a few decades ago. In Japan, an increasing amount of news reporting serious disasters can be seen these days. To sum up, while the shrinking diversity of the species of plants and animals can reduce opportunities to access new medicines, climate change is considered to be a more considerable problem since it has already been controversial. Therefore, I conclude that the problem of the loss of biodiversity is not the most significant environmental problem.