Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Owning a business is said to be one of the fastest and most systematic ways to obtain wealth. This method appears to be more attractive to those officers who are unsatisfied with their jobs. In the following essay, I would describe the possible reasons for people choosing this working style, and explain the potential risk of it. The main reason that drives people to be in self-employment is its flexibility, either in time or workplace. Most freelancers as a boss themselves, have freer control rights over the contracts with their customers. In other words, as long as the goods can be delivered to the customers before the deadline, they can choose their best time and place to work. This definitely can not be done in most companies. Take me as an example, if I fail or forget to check in and out, I would get an absent record which can lead to an hour-long questioning from my supervisor. Besides being free to choose working hours, building a new business gives its owners chances to achieve their ambition. For instance, I've seen an interview for the funder of "Lady First", she once lost a huge amount of money due to location transitions, and the only thing that push her towards borrowing more money to save her career is her dream of sharing fashionable dresses with other ladies. By contrast, most traditional employees, who have little chance to do so, can only stick with their routine duties. However, becoming self-employed can be challenging and bring detrimental impacts, such as psychological illness, on the decision-makers themselves. According to statistical data made a few years ago, around 95% of small companies will collapse within only 5 years. Sometimes, the profits can be deducted to negative when the economical environment is worse. These could be great stresses for the funders since they own the business as well as the responsibility to dispense salary to their staff. In summary, developing a new career is appealing to some traditional workers because it not only brings the funders a sense of achievement but also frees them from fixed and uncontrolled working time schedules. Nevertheless, the underlying risk of depression and other mental diseases makes this path seems more difficult and tough.