The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

The arts are key in the life of most cultures worldwide. Evidence shows that music, art and theatre allow people to express themselves and to be more aware of their emotions. Although the arts seem to have an impact on the well-being of society, community services seem to have a higher impact on the life of the citizens. Some people including the government, think that they should fund community services such as hospitals, public transport, schools and the police instead of investing in the arts. I strongly agree with this statement and will discuss the reasons in the essay. The main reason is public funding is limited. It is well known that the budget that is invested in public services is funded by taxes. These taxes are obtained by the government from our incomes or bills. For example, in the UK everybody has to pay the council tax every month in order to fund social care. This budget is not enough to fund public services and the arts so the government have to prioritise their spending. Another reason is public services such as Health insurance, Education, Infrastructure, social care and citizen security should be a priority. If you are physically or mentally unwell, you are going to receive help in a hospital and the arts are not going to make any difference. In other words, the positive outcome is going to be related to good attention by the health workers. In other words, if the health system is properly funded, you are going to have a good health prospect. In conclusion, Although I do not deny that the arts have positive aspects for society, I believe public services are vital for the well-being of human beings. This is because the funding of public services has a great impact on the quality of life of the citizens such as if someone has access to treatment if is ill or if an individual is going to be in a shelter if become homeless.