It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university what are the avantages and disadvantages of this.

It is true that students tend to take a year off between finishing school and enrolling on college, this essay will discuss the perceived benefits and drawbacks of this trend. Individuals prefer to do that for a variety of reasons, first of all, to take a rest from studying, because as you know school is so demanding, pupils have to attend classes, do homework and prepare for exams, as a result, one becomes tired to the point where he needs to take some time off. Secondly, there are various majors to study in university, thus, one must choose wisely, and for this reason, students tend to take their time before deciding on what to study in the future, the best way to do that is by consulting their parents, friends and relatives, also by looking into the business market and seeing which profession is the most demanded and for that, they take a year off. Despite the obvious appeal, there are some cons to this trend, firstly, after having 12 months’ rest it may be difficult for a student to start studying again, especially since there are specialities in college with an intense curriculum, a student will face a difficult time to recuperate his enthusiasm towards studying again. Moreover, if a learner took the decision to have a year off, this way his graduation will be delayed in comparison to his colleagues, therefore, this could affect him badly, seeing his friends already started their careers and he is still attending classes will definitely make him less happy about the decision that he made earlier, as being said, not taking a year off would be a better decision. To conclude, as I discussed in this essay there are advantages and disadvantages to this trend, and eventually, it is up to everyone whether to do it or not.