Many large supermarkets are being built today while the number of small shops is decreasing. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the way people shop has changed drastically when compared to a couple of decades ago. People are willing to shop at their ease. They are not wanting to shop for a long period of time rather they want to be done with it quickly. Supermarkets are helping them to do so. In this process, supermarkets are replacing traditional small shops. There are advantages and disadvantages to this phenomenon. This essay will try to focus on both and also evaluate them. One of the advantages of having more supermarkets is that they provide more flexibility to consumers. For example, a consumer can experience a wide range of products from a single place only. They need not travel to more places to buy different goods. They can save time by shopping at a supermarket. Another advantage of these shops is that they provide discounts on the products they sell. For instance, these places generally give offers like buy one get one free.People can save money by making use of such offers. By doing so they can save a lot of money. There are disadvantages as well. Small stores are generally owned by individual entities that cannot compete with them. For example, a recent study indicates that there is a dip in the number of folks buying goods from smaller stores. In conclusion, there are both merits and demerits of bigger stores opening every day. But the merits overcome the demerits as the shoppers can save both time and money by buying goods from bigger ones.