In some countries, fast food restaurants and processed foods are becoming increasingly popular. Is this a positive or negative development?

Fast food is enjoyed by all age groups and these days many fast food chains are becoming quite famous among the public. It can be due to their taste, cooking in no time, etc. I believe that it is a negative development and we will elaborate upon it in the subsequent paragraphs. To begin, the time-saving element of this type of food makes it helpful for people as they do not have to spend hours cooking meals. They can easily order it and also get it delivered to their doorsteps. Moreover, they are available at every corner of the neighbourhood which makes it convenient for he people to grab them. For example, there are many brands that sell ready-to-eat meals which just need to be heated up in order to be consumed. Thus, the above example vividly illustrates the reasons for processed foods becoming popular. Similarly, these kinds of foods are quite unhealthy as they contain a lot of preservatives which impact one’s health. Furthermore, children enjoy them due to their taste as they are fried and cooked in a lot of oil which can lead to obesity. Individuals can also develop cardiovascular diseases and diabetes as the calorie content is quite high. To exemplify, studies show that borderline diabetes is one of the developing problems in the age group of 20-30 years. Hence, the aforementioned reason substantiates how fast foods are detrimental. To sum up, junk food restaurants are a threat to human health as they are quite unhealthy and also the time-saving aspect of these foods is convenient for the public. I believe it is a negative development because they play with the health of the individuals and also the conditions in which they are cooked might be unhygienic.