In some countries, some criminal trials in law courts are shown on TV so public can watch. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages to do so and give your opinion.

In many nations, it is very common that criminal trials to be shown on public TV channels. From my perspective, this phenomenon could be both positive and negative. The shows can provide education to citizens and help them to understand the laws. However, it may not be an appropriate show for children since it may show crime scenes. Both sides have their own merits, which will be outlined below. On one hand, the policy to show criminal trials gives advantages to the city since it will allow a citizen to learn about legal and illegal activities. Therefore, it can help to prevent similar crimes to be conducted. Moreover, it also can help citizen to understand the flow of criminal trials. For example, what is the first thing that the police need to do after arresting a potential criminal? Thus, citizen understands how to stand up for themselves if any misconduct in criminal trials ever happens to them. All this knowledge is very important for the citizen to understand their country's laws since most of the time schools won't teach anything related to criminal laws. On the other hand, the timing of the criminal trials shows need to be at everyone's attention. Criminal trials sometimes show how the criminal happened, shows the victim's condition, and the situation at the crime scene. These images are very disturbing. Children should not watch any of these scenes since they may cause trauma. For example, a trial for a convicted murderer may show the image of blood and weapons. Next, children may not fully understand what is going on in the trials and whether it is a lawful action or not. Consequently, children may think it is an appropriate action and follow the steps blindly. In conclusion, I believe that showing criminal trials is important and can be shown on public TV. However, it should be aired during children's bedtime. Therefore, children are not exposed to the show.