Some students choose to take a gap year after graduating high school to work and/or travel. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Taking a gap year to attain more experience is becoming prevalent among students. Recent years have witnessed a notion that the benefits of this path overcome the shortcomings. This idea does not seem to hold true to me because it creates many detrimental effects for students. On the one hand, I admit that taking a year off is beneficial to some extent. First, it offers students a retreat after hard-working years of high school. This is because the young tend to have intensive stress when they cope with the pressure of the university entrance exam. Hence, taking a gap year is a good idea for students to recharge their energy. Second, children can have a chance to gain practical experience before officially going to college. For instance, they can take part in some youth organizations or social activities. As a result, they are put at an advantage compared with others who jump into the next educational program right after graduating high school. On the other hand, it is an undeniable fact that taking a break can pose a threat to the young's motivation to continue their studies. To be more specific, students can easily get lost and become lazier. For example, many students become addicted to travel or playing around, which results in their loss of interest in studying and academic life. Consequently, taking a gap year can backfire and then descend an ending for their educational path. More noticeably, taking a year off is not always bringing hands-on experience. Specifically, it is extremely difficult to be employed by a company without any technical knowledge, which should be learned from college or academic courses. As a consequence, it is a waste of time to spend a year doing nothing. Instead, they can go to university to absorb learning and, at the same time, become an intern in companies opening internships for freshmen. In a conclusion, while I admit that taking a year off has its own advantages, its drawbacks can become problematic for the development of young people. Therefore, it is better if high school students can commit to education programs after their graduation.