In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case ? Do you think this a positive or negative situation ?

People in some nations believe that being a homeowner is better than being a renter, because owning a home may express their financial status, or may give them a feeling of stability and ownership. I believe that it is a negative situation, as it may increase house prices, and can make homeowners less happy. To begin with, owning a property has many beneficial things for many reasons, which encourage people to buy. First, this may enhance people's social standing. In this day and age, house prices are extremely high, and as a result, few people can afford to buy a house or a flat, which expresses their financial status. For example, in Iran, some girls do not marry men who do not have self-owned houses, because they believe such may not be able to provide for their needs and may lack the ability to create a stable and happy life together. In addition, homeowners usually feel more stability than renters, as they do not worry about losing their property and have the ability to personalize their houses. Despite the numerous advantages of homeownership, including enhanced social standing and a sense of stability, it also has its drawbacks. A critical disadvantage is that high demand for property results in house price inflation, which may make the situation difficult for low-income people to own their own homes. Moreover, purchasing a property may make a person less happy, because they may borrow money from banks to buy, and after paying their mortgage every month, they may not have much money to spend on their favourite activities. Such as visiting another city or dining in a fancy restaurant. In conclusion, owning a home has value for many people, because it shows them in a high class in society, and they may attain a feeling of security. Nonetheless, I consider it a negative situation, as it may decrease happiness or may cause rising inflation.