You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: More people put their personal information online (address, telephone number…) for everyday activities such as socializing on social networks or banking. Do you think it is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Increasingly, individuals are sharing their personal details, including addresses and phone numbers, on the Internet as part of routine activities like socializing on social media or engaging in online banking. Although this technique may improve user experience, I believe that it is a negative development because individuals would be more exposed to cyber-crime. On the one hand, updating personal information online allows internet buyers to have a better experience. Consumers can make more comfortable online purchases by linking personal details with unique accounts. As a result, customers may avoid the time-consuming data submission and proceed directly to the final stage of making transactions because their information has already been linked with their sign-in accounts during the first registration. For instance, when consumers sign up for e-commerce platforms like Shopee or Lazada, there will be a page for customers to fill in their details. However, I believe that information publication should be taken into consideration because it is dangerous for people's lives. On the other hand, posting personal information on the internet exposes users to the risk of illegal activity. Private details given online, such as names, addresses and security numbers can be used for nefarious reasons like financial fraud. Therefore, user's information may be collected and utilized against their will, for purposes such as extortion, property fraud, or disinformation. For example, as has often been the case on social networking sites, unaware users might fall prey to hackers by clicking on links that violate their security settings. I believe that users' wants, likes, and ideas might be exploited by shady groups if their personal information falls into the wrong hands. In conclusion, although public personal details can bring a comfortable experience for customers, they should be limited due to the possibility of online fraud.