There are many different types of music in the world today.  Why do we need music?  Is the traditional music of a country more important than the international music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

It is true that a huge variety of musical styles can be found throughout the world today. There are plenty of reasons to explain why music is so essential to us. The popularity of international music is reasonable and logical, however, I would argue that the importance of traditional music cannot be neglected. Music is regarded as one of the most powerful methods of communication, not only with others but also with ourselves. We can talk to artists through their music and feel what the artist is trying to express. For example, when I hear jazz, I always have a feeling of freedom, improvisation and going with the flow. Also, when we share a song with others, we share our emotions with them through the lyrics and melody, and perhaps some words that are difficult to speak out directly. Hearing music can also be an aid to introspection. Healing music helps people to relax and relieve stress, allowing them to truly talk to themselves and engage in self-reflection. Even music as loud as rock music can be a mirror that makes certain people think more deeply about themselves. In my opinion, both traditional and international music have their characteristics. The birth and prevalence of international music can be considered a remarkable sign of globalisation, as the boundaries between countries and even between races have been broken down to some extent. But on the other hand, we should not trivialise the significance of traditional music, which carries a huge amount of information about the culture, customs and history of a country. This type of music connects us to the past and forms a certain part of our cultural identity. It would be a great pity if we were to lose this heritage of humanity. In conclusion, no one can deny the necessity of music for us and I do believe that international music and traditional music should be equally valued. Neither of them should be left behind in our human history.