Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is believed that children should be exposed to a new language at a young age and should not wait until they get to secondary school. In my opinion, learning a foreign language early has more benefits than drawbacks. The obvious argument in its favour is that children have an innate ability to acquire languages more easily than teenagers. If adolescents tend to be overwhelmed with grammar rules, young children enjoy copying words and pronunciations, which helps them to pick up the new language more naturally. They are also less self-conscious and not afraid of making mistakes, allowing them to learn faster. In addition, early exposure to another language benefits children ’s growth as a person. Learning a new language introduces them to another culture with different customs, ideas and values, which encourages them to think from a new point of view. Children, therefore, become more open-minded and are able to show empathy towards people from other backgrounds. However, there are disadvantages too. Children might get confused between their mother tongue and the other language. For example, many Vietnamese children who learn English while they are young tend to borrow words from English to express the ones they do not know in their home language. This would have negative impacts not only on their language development but also on their overall growth. Besides, the additional academic load of learning another language exerts pressure on young children. Consequently, they prefer other activities, such as sports, and will decide to discontinue their foreign language learning. Nevertheless, these issues can be addressed strategically with appropriate teaching methods, like learning by playing, and short, simple lessons. To conclude, despite certain drawbacks, I strongly believe that foreign languages should be part of the primary curriculum, due to children ’s innate abilities to learn languages and the benefits of having a broader mind and better cultural awareness that being bilingual or multilingual brings to them.